State and Territorial Advisory Committee

SPRC’s State and Territorial Advisory Committee:

  • Strengthens SPRC’s collaborative relationships with states and territories
  • Advises SPRC on the development of products for states, territories, and communities about suicide prevention best practices and supports
  • Helps ensure the cultural responsiveness of the national resources SPRC develops and disseminates for use by states and territories

Kim Kane

Kim Kane, MPA, has worked in the field of suicide prevention in Idaho for 19 years. She the co-founder and Garrett Lee Smith project director for the Idaho Lives Project (ILP), which focuses on youth suicide prevention. Kane formerly served as the program manager for the suicide prevention program at the Idaho Division of Public Health. Prior to that, Kane was the ... Read more

Angela Sullivan

Angela Sullivan, MS, PhD, is the program director for the COVID Testing and Prevention in Alabama’s K-12 Schools Program at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Public Health. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in criminal justice from Troy University, as well as a PhD in community health promotion from UAB. Dr. Sullivan is currently... Read more

Kathryn MacDonald

Kathryn (Katie) MacDonald, MPH, (she/her) is a public health professional with a passion for upstream prevention of suicide, substance use, violent behaviors, and developmental issues among children and teens. She is an experienced program manager with a deep understanding of civil rights issues and a commitment to ongoing learning about equity and inclusion. ... Read more

Lindsay DeCamp

Lindsay DeCamp, MHA, currently serves as the state suicide prevention coordinator at the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Injury and Violence Prevention Section. She oversees the day-to-day operations and implementation of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)-funded Transforming Youth Suicide Prevention in Michigan... Read more

Anna C. Sever

Anna C. Sever, MS, is a behavioral health professional with experience overseeing statewide programs, working on statewide grants, conducting empirical research, and providing crisis and bereavement counseling. Anna is currently the Executive Director for the Tennessee Suicide Prevention Network (TSPN). With the support of her team and partners across the state, sh... Read more

Nick Nichols

Nick Nichols, MSW, is the suicide prevention program coordinator at the Vermont Department of Health and oversees the work of a comprehensive suicide prevention grant funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Nick holds a master’s degree in social work and has worked to support mental health, substance use prevention, and public health improvement... Read more

Nayda I. Román-Vázquez

Dr. Nayda I. Román-Vázquez, PhD, earned a PhD in clinical psychology from the University of Puerto Rico Rio Piedras Campus. Since 2015, she has been working at the Puerto Rico Department of Health’s Commission on Suicide Prevention, the government entity responsible for implementing suicide prevention public policy in Puerto Rico. She has developed and offered ... Read more

Jill Baker

Jill Baker, LCS, leads youth suicide prevention work for the Oregon Health Authority. She was the lead author of the Oregon Youth Suicide Intervention and Prevention Plan and led the work to develop the Oregon Suicide Prevention Framework. She worked for ten years as a school counselor and has a background in mediation, conflict resolution, and restorative justice.... Read more

KristiAnna Santos Whitman

KristiAnna Santos Whitman, MA, PhD, is a daughter of Guam and the proud mother of one. She manages Guam’s Garrett Lee Smith grant, Focus on Life, which is administered by the Guam Behavioral Health and Wellness Center, the island’s state mental health agency. Dr. Whitman is a licensed professional counselor and received a bachelor’s degree from the Un... Read more